Easter Basket Fun!

Easter is just a couple weeks away and like many of you I’ve been looking too see what kind of baskets I can come up with this year. During my search I noticed quite a few of these adorable personalized baskets. Many of them seem to be fabric and more of a bucket than basket. I search a few places to see if I could locate one of these fabric buckets and didn’t have much luck. I did however find some cut baskets with liners at the local Wal-Mart. And the price was just right. So my plan was pretty simple, after all the goal was to create a personalize Easter basket. I was just going to apply an iron on patch to the liner. Too easy right! I am happy to say that it was just as easy as it sounds.

20160313_182239

 

Here is my Wal-Mart Easter basket, the name patch I made to iron on, and the ol’ house hold iron. I thought the yellow and the green colors on the patch would really pop since the major colors for this basket are the light green and blue.

 

 

 

 

First I took the liner out of the basket and turned it so that when I applied the patch it would sit on the out side of the basket on the liner that was hanging over. I measured the total length and the divided in half to get the center placement where the patch would go.

20160313_182452

20160313_182616

 

 

 

 

Next, I measured the patch the same way I did the liner to determine the center of the patch. Once I got the center of the patch I layered the two center marks on top of each other. The patch center on top of the liner center. You can see the straight pin I used to mark the center on the patch in this picture.

20160313_182758

Once the patch was in place all that was left to do was apply the heat from the iron and press the patch on. I heated the iron up on linen/cotton and waited until it was fully heated up before pressing.20160313_183011

To protect the patch and the liner for the direct heat of the iron I used an old piece of Teflon I had. Parchment or baking paper would also work fine too.

20160313_183052

I pressed for 16 seconds and let cool. I noticed after the first heat application that my edges just didn’t seem to be attached real good so I did another 16 seconds while pressing firmly down on the iron. Again I let it cool completely. Now all that was left was to put the liner back in the basket. Tada!

20160313_183622

I thought it turned out pretty dang cute if I say so myself. I hope you all like it too. 🙂

20160313_183634

 

 

Leave a Reply

